The Lost files…TOTD

Have you ever stopped to think about how you present yourself? Perception itself is an interesting game, because the way that you present yourself can have very little do to do with how you are received. Many things influence perception, including emotional states, preconceived notions, and rapport. I work in a business where perception is important, and in that space how I present myself is fluid. I like to think that I come to work as a blank slate. I certainly have the knowledge of what I do and don’t know, but how the interactions I have take shape are very much influenced by the people I deal with. I can be a cheerleader or task master, all dependent on how an individual views his or disability. Some people decide they are victims and decide that my job is to enable that perception of themselves. In a previous TOTD, I said I see myself as the person who helps a person come to terms with his or her new reality; I cannot do that if the person is not ready to embrace the shift.  For those people, I can be perceived as insensitive when I don’t allow him or her to say “aww, poor you”. I see myself as a way-maker, but I am not always perceived that way.  Some people see me as a punching bag, as it feels good to them to place the blame for their circumstances on someone outside of themselves.  There is never a day I put my feet to the floor that I think “I can’t wait to take the blame for something I have no control over”. Though perception is reality, I realize there are as many realities as there are people in the universe.  I put my feet to the floor and try to be the best me I can be, whether that me is tired, worried, or full of zest for life.  I hope you do the same.

Leave a Reply

